Dydara's Blog

March 31, 2010

SSEAYP: Ship for Southeast Asian Youth Program

Filed under: Exchange Programs — dydara @ 9:33 pm

My parents and SSEAYP family are my source of inspiration. :) 

No doubt  is  the  most  enjoyable  experience  ever  in  my  life.🙂

SSEAYP 2005

Not a day goes by I don’t think about two people and two journeys! The two people are my ex-lover and the girl of my dreams. And the journeys are SSEAYP and peace boat, the journey in my dreams. The ex-lover and SSEAYP are the past, but you know, in life, the first act, always exciting. The girl of my dreams and the journey in my dreams are just the dreams. But these dreams give me smile and hope! J


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My proud moment

My proud moment

Youth is a once in a lifetime gift. Make it memorable and meaningful. I am talking about memorable fun, memorable achievement and at the same time make a meaningful contribution to the world. :) 


Experience the world through the eyes of Travelers!🙂 The most amazing trip I’ve had to date.

I still get goosebumps, for it was one of the most enriching experiences of my life!!!
I remember thinking it almost felt like I was coming up on alcohol and get high. I was giggling at everything, and was amazed and how beautiful everything was starting to look. I knew I was in for a great trip.

SSEAYP has made it to the headlines in various media reports. Because of SSEAYP I got interview on local TV, Thai TV5 and now Youth Leader Magazine.

I had the honor to be interviewed for Youth Leader Magazine. Thank you so much YL Magazine, you did a big favor for me! It is with great honor and privilege that I am describing mybeloved program.

Any special memories?

I remember 2005, that was the year I participated in SSEAYP and one of the best years of my life. Actually, I have some special memories out there, here they are:

I set foot in the ship at port Klang, Malaysia on November 8, 2005. You know, in life, the first act, always exciting. The minute I walked into the ship, I went, oh yeah, that’s amazing. That’s where it all started for SSEAYP 2005. 6 years seems like yesterday!

Delegation pay a courtesy call on Cambodia Prime Minister H.E. Samdech Hun Sen

On board the ship, I watched the sunset.

I drank beers with youth participants.

It was so cold when the ship nearly reached Tokyo, I am not sure that’s me or my friends who said “let’s take off our shirts.” I miss that time so much!

Click here to see edited article w… asia.youth-leader dot org/?p=3208. I cannot write a full link. WordPress doesn’t allow user to link to any other address.

We only get one life so we owe it to ourselves to see as much of this beautiful world as possible. For many of us, lying on a beach for two weeks each year is just not enough any more. We want to see ancient monuments, extraordinary scenery, endangered wildlife, foreign culture, architecture and art- Places that give us the chance to grow and expand our horizons. SSEAYP  has all these things.


SSEAYP stand for Ship for Southeast Asian Youth Program

You have checked it out blog of a SSEAYP sick patient : Dy Dara. He’s a Cambodian Participating Youth (CPY) of The 32th SSEAYP 2005, part of Solidarity Group D (SG-D), (won the best cheer) He hopes that by writing this blog he can share a little bit about his love of SSEAYP, nippon maru, and also his passion… and as well to fulfill his post-program oath to himself.

It’s the story of the best program ever called as Ship for South East Asian Youth Program… a program that has been changing the youth’s life, vision and future, and I was lucky that I was there in 2005!

This program brought out the best in me as a Cambodia youth. It has opened my eyes to understand other cultures and traditions, brought new friends and foster families, made me feel proud as a citizen of the ASEAN and Japan ommunity of nations, and challenged me to develop a vision of progress for my country.

I set foot in the ship at port Klang, Malaysia on November 8, 2005. You know, in life, the first act, always exciting. The minute I walked in the ship, I went, Oh yeah, that’s amazing. That's where it all started for SSEAYP 2005. 6 years seems like yesterday!

In Malaysia, where my first home stay was, I have learned hospitality. 

  • Do you think it is  cool if you can join a program that gather more than 300 youth from 10 south east asia countries plus Japan, for 50+ days on a cruise ship  that sails throughout southeast asian and japan?
  • Do you agree that listening, getting to know, understanding, and exchanging ideas among 300+ youth will benefit your knowledge and your way of seeing things?
  • Do you believe that mutual understanding, friendship, peace and respect must be acknowledge among south east asian countries and japan?

Nagoya Castle


When I started my trip, my greatest expectations were for the numerous countries that we were going to visit. Soon I realized that they are just one small part of something much bigger. Every day on board was full of various activities, and there were countless opportunities to experience new things that I normally would not have chance to do. Those activities also widened my awareness of the world, of environmental and peace related topics, and many more. One of the greatest things was making lots of new friends around the world, and of course on the ship itself. It was truly an amazing experience!

The Ship for Southeast Asian Youth Program started in year 1974 after a positive reorganization of the Japanese Youth Goodwill Cruise Program in order to achieve a wider exchange among youths from countries in South-East Asia and Japan. This Program offers the opportunity for young people in Japan and youth from South-East Asia, by sharing life together on the Ship for South-East Asian Youth named “Nippon Maru”, to study and discuss common problems from a global point of view and to be engaged in various activities on board the ship as well as in the visited countries.

By doing this, the Program aims at promoting mutual understanding and friendship, at expanding global perspectives, at fostering the spirit of international cooperation and the will to practice it, and at bringing up young people who will play the leading role in various fields of internationalizing society. Furthermore, their contribution to youth development activities after the program is also expected.

I was a participant in the Ship for Southeast Asian Youth Program 2005 (SSEAYP) in Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Brunei, Philippines, and Japan; assisting cultural performances, club activity, discussion, and other affairs of Cambodia Contingent, joined in various assigned program both on board the ship and visited country to broaden international outlook and better cultural understanding, promote mutual friendship and build global communication.

Maybe more of a time commitment. But you’ll be a part of something exciting, SSEAYP.🙂

I like this program so much. SSEAYP – A life-changing experience! A program that has been changing the youth’s life, vision and future. It develops talented people. I think many SSEAYP participants have a good career and helps some people do their business well because of this program. The big influence and positively affect for my life, For me, it improves myself and my philosophy of life. SSEAYP shaped my interest in patriotism, volunteer, culture, share and contribute to society. Without SSEAYP, I don’t know what my life would be. It was the opportunity of a lifetime. :) I am very grateful that I have been a part of this awesome program; it gives me a great sense of pride. :) It’s an honor and I will never forget it.

I have learned a lot from pre-departure training and during the program, how to share, love and appreciate people. learn how to be a sweet person and learn how to do for others more than you do for yourself. Thank you guys!🙂

It is a program that travel by cruise ship, it was not only my first time on cruise ship, but it was also on flight and train.

I met a lot of incredible and talented people. I have learned a lot from them. I can tell a few example here”  it is not a problem if you think it is a problem it makes you have a problem”  and” learn to satisfy.” For instance, I took a picture and I don’t’ like the way I look or pose learn to make yourself satisfy with that. I am a happy man before I heard that words but that words make me even happier. I learned this from someone, I cannot remember who. So if it was you, please jump in and remind me so that I can give you credit. The idea is that you should think like a digger who dig a big amount of land just to find small diamonds. which means you should see his good deeds rather than their bad deeds.(may be My National Leader of youth contingent) which helps me to work well with other people.

♥ SSEAYP, you’ve given me so much, so far beyond my expectation.
You are the one journey that I will never ever regret taking.
To CPY 05 and some SIC members who taught me during PDT, you guys are not my friends anymore, you all were inaugurated to be my brothers and sister 6 years ago.😀 Let the memories of togetherness stay forever in our hearts. I always miss your comments, jokes, laughs and everything about you guys. (2011)
We love each other as a family and this is the other family of mine called SSEAYP family.♥ Family isn’t whose blood you carry.
lt’s who you love and who loves you.♥  These experiences from this program was an unforgettable moment of my life. This was the Best program Ever !!!!.

SSEAYP family

It was an unforgettable moment of my life.

This was the Best program Ever !!!!

A life-changing experience!

Words really can’t quite describe the thrill of actually being here.

SSEAYP was awesome. I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

The second things I really miss the most for my life right now is SSEAYP Program.

SSEAYP 2005 ended, that memories is not end, it is still sailing in my mind forever.

A program that keeps me talk about it for a very very long time.


My blog inspired by SSEAYP.
https://dydara.wordpress.com/

After the trip I end up a better man. I will make sure that this experince doesn’t go away.

May  SSEAYP Long Live 🙂

កម្មវិធីនាវាយុវជនអាស៊ីអាគេ្នយ៍ ២០១០ (SSEAYP 2010)

8 Comments »

  1. Yes, I agree with you. I have learned alot from SSEAYP. And I am lucky to be there in 2009🙂

    Comment by AlexCPY09 — September 11, 2010 @ 12:56 am | Reply

  2. What is most remarkable event that i could not forget in my life?

    Knowing everyone in Sseayp especially CPY05 is my greatest reward that god gave me. I could never ever forget the time we were together. I do love you everyone…….

    Loury

    Comment by Loury — September 22, 2010 @ 2:45 pm | Reply

    • Most remarkable event is SSEAYP program, from PDT to finish that program. but when the SSEAYP was end, that memory is not end, it is still sailing in my mind forever.

      Comment by dydara — September 23, 2010 @ 2:29 am | Reply

  3. Haiiii…… My beloved participants from Kamboja, howww areee youuu alllll….. I love you all. I have dream and hope when we will meeting again? waaaooooo…I never forgot our momories when we was in Nipon Maru… ….. how are you ? ….. give your commant and inform please !…

    Comment by MESAK MANDOWEN, Alumni delegation from Indonesia 2005. — February 5, 2011 @ 2:21 pm | Reply

    • We are great, thanks n how about your contingent? M great, thks, how about you? take care!😀
      My dearest SSEAYP family, I would like to say a big thanks for the wonderful love, memories and priceless friendship. You have made a very special difference in my life. I will never forget it and will treasure the memories forever. SSEAYP is awesome. I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

      Comment by dydara — February 6, 2011 @ 11:45 am | Reply

  4. […] Or https://dydara.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/sseayp-ship-for-southeast-asian-youth-program/ […]

    Pingback by This is my original article for youth leader magazine « Dydara's Blog — February 13, 2011 @ 12:02 am | Reply

  5. Dear Dydara,

    I am Yu Fang, from Malaysia. I am looking forward to be a volunteer or have a wonderful working holidays in another corner of the world. I feel so thankful that I read the Ship for Southeast Asian Youth Programme (SSEAYP) article and ur inspiring blog. So so so grateful for it.

    I tried to search the info about the application of it, yet I found out that mostly are open for their own country citizen…I couldn’t find Malaysian one. As a ex-participant, could u or any of ur M’sia frnd share me the info about the application…

    Appreciate ur helping hands….follows our heart, it will lead us to what we satisfied with…

    Comment by chai yu fang — June 28, 2011 @ 10:35 am | Reply

    • Thank you for your support here!😀

      You can contact them: Address: KABESA (SI Malaysia) Lot G-05, International Youth Centre, Jalan Yaacob Latif (Jalan Tenteram), Bandar Tun Razak, Cheras, 56000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

      Tel: +60-3-9171-4606 Fax: +60-3-9173-3652 Email: info@kabesa.org
      President: Mr. Che Muhamad Nordin Ismail (1988 PY)
      Email: chenordin_ismail@yahoo.com Mobile: +60-12-399-5299

      Deputy President: Mr. Suhairi Ab. Karim (1997 PY)
      Email: zhengoryen@yahoo.com.my Mobile: +60-12-386-1417

      Secretary General: Mr. Aidi Amin Mahat (1996 PY)
      Email: aoudee@yahoo.com Mobile: +60-17-267-1737

      Good luck with that!😀
      All the best!🙂
      Dara

      Comment by dydara — June 28, 2011 @ 11:19 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

