Dydara's Blog

October 12, 2010

How to become a People person or the people’s champ.

Filed under: Interesting and Useful Topics — dydara @ 5:54 am
Tags:

fansign

be lovable

This Topic is dedicated to one of my dearest friends, Kang Rithisal(Bong Sal). A man who requires no introduction, his sense of humor and knowledge make him one of the most popular members in Sseayp International Cambodia (SIC). Thanks for being such a wonderful inspiration to a hundreds youth all over the Cambodia. Thank you so much for everything that you have done for me. It is my honor to know you. With lots of  love and hopes to a long lasting friendship. You are in my mind and in my heart. I’m Glad to have you! Just wanted to remind you how special you are!. You are one of the best gifts that ever happened to my life. I’m proud of that. I would like to show my gratitude and appreciate towards my dearest friend, Bong Sal, my big brother and my SBFF. I know you have touched many lives,  I am one of them! :) He has earned a great deal of respect from his friends, he earns mine as well. Want my respect? Earn it. heheheh🙂

Remember, those whose lives you have touched and whose have touched yours are always a part of you.

There are a lot of talented people out there in the world. salespeople, creative artists, intelligent programmers, volunteers . They all have a skill set that makes them special and that makes them valuable, but for my appreciation, the greatest talent or skill that you can have is to become a People person.

A People person is the people’s champ. They are fun to be around, usually a funny, But you know, a people person is also someone who understands someone. They give good advise, and are great listeners. You can definatley trust them no matter what. You can be a people person by being more polite, non-selfish, understand people and try to solve their problems, making them laugh, being honest, being trust-able. Someone who loves to interact with people, and does a good job of it. Usually a talkative, social person.You would need good communication skills and you would need to get along with people of different races, personalities, etc. It refers to someone who is sociable, and likes to be with other people. Some people are more solitary by nature, but a ‘People person’ likes to meet people, and has a bubbly, outgoing personality. That is a talent you can leverage in many walks of life. Being a people person means that you get along with just about everyone and so many things like this.

I think Bong Sal, he has all what it takes to be a People person or the people’s champ. He is the people’s champ to many people.

On July 22, 2009 My dearest friend wrote this email to me: It was great honor to know you and it’s always great fun to be around with you. You’re someone born with joy and love. I like that. I just realized that I am born with joy and love. I really love everyone even though who hates me. but you are even better than me. You are born to be loved. Within your life, you are being loved. Everyone lovesyou! I really admire you. 15.05.2011

I know one great man used to tell me many good sayings, that man is Kang Rithisal, He has the same age as me, but he is so wise. ‎”Thoughtless words can wound as deeply as a sword, but wisely spoken words can heal.” I used to have broken heart and I talked to a wise person, and he could cheer me up!😀 Thank you big brother!

I always called him bong or brother, he prefers me to call him as friend, but I prefer to call him Bong it is the way I honor and respect him,

The big influence and positively affect for my life, that is him too, When I meet him I always keep saying I have learned a lot from you and thank you so much,brother. His replied “because of yourself too” He means I am the kind of person who like to learn and improve myself. To some people may be it is just a saying, to me it is a golden words. Every time I chat with him I always learn something new from him. but I rarely chat with him because I don’t want to bother him. I really want to chat with him but I can’t. I’ve learned this from him it was 5 year ago, I still keep every golden words of him in my mind, when I want to do something with someone make sure I have to ask the person whether they are happy or enjoy doing something with me or not. I realized it is not just about me but the other person too. We like do something funny but when it comes to work we have to be responsible and serious about it . He is really a wise person.

Here is the golden words I’ve learned from him:

                                                            Click on the picture to see the topic.
Sweet person is not all about saying the sweet words, it is about doing the sweet things.

For example, you know that today is your friend’s birthday and you make a surprised birthday cake for him or her, that is kind of sweet thing to do.

The more rules you set, the more difficult you are

It is not a problem if you think it is a problem it makes you have a problem.

DO SOMETHING NICE FOR THEM
Don’t wait to be asked, and do not ask them if they need something. Just go ahead and do it. If you know a need, go ahead and do it because it’s what YOU want to do for THEM.
Learning by seeing what others doing.

All these are for reading then it will make sense when it practically comes to life.

I was a participant in the Ship for Southeast Asian Youth Program 2005. I met a lot of incredible and talented people. I have learned a lot from them. Bong Sal came to teach us during pre-departure training for that program. This is how I came to know him.  The one that impress me the most is him, I can tell a few example here”  it is not a problem if you think it is a problem it makes you have a problem”  and” learn to satisfy.” For instance, I took a picture and I don’t’ like the way I look or pose learn to make yourself satisfy with that from other friend. I am a happy man before I heard that words but that words make me happier. I learned this from someone, I cannot remember who. So if it was you, please jump in and remind me so that I can give you credit. The idea is that you should think like a digger who dig a big amount of land just to find small diamonds. which means you should see his good deeds rather than their bad deeds.(may be My Moha National Leader of youth contingent) Which helps me to work well with people.

They shaped my interest in volunteer, culture, share and contribute to society. I have learned a lot from pre-departure training and during the program, how to share, love and appreciate people. learn how to be a sweet person and learn how to do for others more than you do for yourself.

Here is some info about him:

The third child in a family of four children, Kang Rithisal is a determined, inspired young person ready to take on the challenges of life.Rithisal believes that “engaging in youth exchange programmes enables one to develop leadership capabilities,and helps promote international understanding and encourages cooperation with the youth of other countries.” These activities allow the participants to not only learn from other cultures, but also,to showcase their own. A firm believer that ‘it takes nothing but hardwork to getthings done’, Rithisal believes that some of his fellow youths inCambodia need to exhibit a better work ethic.He says, “I think that lack of discipline is one of the common failings of the youth in Cambodia.They just enjoy too much the current attractions of life.”Rithisal would like to be an agent of change in young people’s lives by inspiring them through shared experiences and stories. Through his own good example and dynamic leadership, he may yet contribute to bringing about this change among his peers. Currently, bong sal is studying in USA for his fulbright master degree.

These are the points to be a People person:

Magnetic Personality,

Many books and articles on the topic of dealing with people tend to focus on smiling, eye contact, and body language as a way to have a positive impact on others.  Those things are important but many books tend to forget the most effective way to win with people.  Personality.  You can have great eye contact and a perfect smile but nothing; I mean nothing will attract people to you better than a winning personality.  Great body language will get you there but a great personality will keep you there.

The Art of Influence

Being a people person has much to do with influence.  Influence is a powerful entity to have as a political figure, celebrity, or parent.  It is also important for anybody who wants to be more effective with people.  Your ability to alter or align the thoughts, moods, and emotions of other people, is an indicator to how much of a people person you are.

Make Them Smile

As I mentioned before, smiling at others is an important way to have a positive impact on people but I suggest a better approach is to try to make others smile. Some of you are saying, “But I’m not funny.” That’s fine. Making someone laugh is great but the truth is you don’t have to make them laugh in order to be an effective people person, but you do have to make them smile.  You don’t have to be funny but you do have to be fun.  You don’t have to be able to tell jokes but you do need to know how to take a joke. Being an easy going person who can make others smile is a priceless people skill that can make a world of difference in your daily relationships.  The best way I know to make others smile is to talk about topics where there are opportunities to have fun.

This article will not focus on the basics of dealing with people.  If you’ve made it this far in life and have at least one friend, you don’t need me to tell you that complementing people makes them feel good.  This article’s focus is to help you become the kind of person that can influence and positively affect those around you.  Some people can walk into a room and light it up.  They have an energy around them that makes others instantly gravitate to them.  Although the people who can do this most effectively have been doing it since they were young, anybody can learn this ability.

Empathy is the capacity to, through consciousness rather than physically, share the sadness or happiness of another sentient being. Sentience is the ability to feel or perceive.

More Ways to be a People Person

There are so many characteristics of an effective people person.  With a few adjustments in your behavior and the way you react to others, you will begin to see the changes in the way others react to you.  Try one of these techniques for 7 days and you will see how much of a difference it will make.

Make others feel important-Most people are so concerned with how they are perceived that they spend most of their time making themselves look important.

Be willing to help– Watch for opportunities to help others every day.  At work, school, or even if you see someone that needs help at the grocery store, offer you services somehow. The trick is not to ask them if they need help.  Try just helping them out. Taking the initiative shows more genuineness in the act.  Asking, “can I help you with that?” or “would you like me to..?”

Be interested in their interests– When trying to connect with people in a positive way it is best start with their interest.  There are two major reasons why this is important.  First you learn more about the person you are talking to. When you converse with someone about their interest, you build an understanding about the person and that person develops a bond with you because you have allowed them to share some of what is important to them with you.  Win-Win.

Positive Paradigms (Leave them feeling better than when you found them.)

As a people person, you must learn to make others feel good by influencing them in a positive way. Here is a way you can practice building influence and becoming the type of person others want to be around.  The next time you are around someone who is focused on a negative aspect on life, slowly influence them until they say something positive.  You can agree with them about what they are saying but sometime during the conversation add a positive aspect or possibility to it.

If you can follow the points here, you will change the way you live and lead. As you read, you will be encouraged and your ability to interact with people will expand.

The thing that are rewarding to me is being on the road and having someone I’ve never met approach me to say “Thank you, your blog have really helped me”  it would be awesome to feel appreciated!🙂

If you found this helpful send it to a friend or you can use one of these to spread the word. No need to thank me help what we can with others in need…the world is ONE big family! :) ♥Love you all!🙂

With Gratitude,

Dara

Tonite I am so happy and I feel confident after talking on the phone with my dearest friend about my final interview! Thanks to Rithisal Kang Bong Sal, you are my source of inspiration. I have done some home work about interview yet I still missed a lot points. You are the man that I can turn to for the help. I am so sorry to bother you again and again. Without my parents and friends, my pathetic life would not be worth living. You want to succeed in something ask some tips from successful people! Thank you so much Bong Sal! I do appreciate your help! I really want to return my favor for you. I have owed you a lot. Let me know if you need any favor from me, ok? You are so missed! All the best to you!😀 23.11.2011

3 Comments »

  1. Good sharing! U may be a people person. Now m in the process of being a people person. Honestly speaking, being friendly is not the way I was. When I studied at high school, I rarely talk to the strangers and had a few friends. However, when I put my step in IFL, I realized that social interaction is very important for my daily life and academic life. I need their support. They also need mine. I believe the peaceful world exists as long as we can live with understanding, helpful, and harmonious senses.

    Comment by Phearoun pok — May 20, 2011 @ 8:21 am | Reply

  2. We cannot live alone in this world; we need each other’s help. Help what we can with others in need…the world is ONE big family!

    Comment by dydara — May 26, 2011 @ 12:06 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

