Dydara's Blog

March 14, 2011

Peace Boat, The Journey In My Dream

Circumnavigation, that’s my life ambition!

pb

Never give up on something that you can’t go a day without thinking about.

 A small-town boy with a very big dream ​ពេលជិះកប៉ាល់ជុំវិញពិភពលោកហើយគឺបាន My lifetime achievement: The first man from Cambodia to sail around the world and he is one of the greatest Khmer travelers.

Voyage Itinerary

ក្នុងមួយឆ្នាំPeace Boatធ្វើដំណើរជុំវិញពិភពលោក3ដងហើយមានVoyage Itineraryខុសគ្នាទាំង3 Voyage Itineraryមួយនេះត្រូវចិត្តខ្ញុំខ្លាំងណាស់អាចអោយខ្ញុំបានឃើញAuroraនៅIcelandហែលទឹកសមុទ្រលេងនៅHawaiiហើយចង់ឃើញទឹកសមុទ្រនៅCuracaoដ៏ស្រស់ស្អាតបានទៅលេងBarcelona Cityនិងបានឃើញព្រែកជីកSuez CanalនិងPanama Canalទាំងអស់នេះគឺជាអ្វីដែលខ្ញុំចង់ឃើញជាងគេ។

aurora in iceland

Aurora in Iceland

curacao

Curacao

peace boat colla

Peace Boatជិះជិតទៅដល់កន្លែងទាំងនេះចង់ទៅដល់កន្លែងទាំងនេះត្រូវជិះឡានរឺយន្តហោះបន្តទៀតទើបទៅដល់ដើរលេងមួយJourneyហើយគឺឆ្អែតមិនដឹងជាមានអ្វីត្រូវចង់ឃើញទៀត។

enough for travelling

ពេលនេះខ្ញុំដើរលេងបរទេសបាន10ប្រទេសពេលជិះកប៉ាល់Peace Boatបូកថែមជិត30ប្រទេសទៀតបានជិត40ប្រទេសដល់ពេលហ្នឹងខ្ញុំឆ្អែតនឹងរឿងដើរទេសចរណ៍និងរឿងដើរផ្សងព្រេងគឺអាចអោយខ្ញុំមានគ្រួសារធ្វើជាប្តីល្អនិងឪពុកល្អអត់មានចង់ដើរលេងរឺសីុផឹកអីទៀតទេ។

nmpb

មកដល់ទីនេះខ្ញុំអាចស្រមៃចេញនូវទិដ្ធភាពកាលពីឆ្នាំ2013ដែលNippon MaruនិងPeace Boatចតនៅថ្ងៃតែមួយនៅទីនេះ។ Both ships are my fav ships in the whole world.

Peace Boat, baby! You have no idea how much I love this journey and you cannot imagine that! Today is the day that I have been waiting for! It is worth coming all the way. I am glad I have came here. I would not get married unless I sail around the world with this ship! រង់ចាំជិះកប៉ាលមួយនេះមួយជុំវិញផែនដីហើយបានយកប្រពន្ធ 12.10.2014 Cambodia

I step

Mr. Hardcore Traveler is in the house! You cannot imagine how much I love this ship! I step on board of Peace Boat’s 84th Global Voyage (Jul-Oct 2014). This is her last country before she go back to Japan! I feel really hyper excited to be on board.


IMG_0218
Waiting to see PB! She will be at this port tomorrow! ជិះឡានពីបាត់ដំបងតាំងពីព្រឹកមកដល់កំពង់សោមយប់ 11.10.2014

IMG_0213

That night I woke up at 3 AM and I heard ship horn sound, I thought that would be Peace Boat, I felt excited and I opened the window to see her but I saw nothing. I opened that window a few times when I heard that sound and then I went back to sleep. Later, I found out that port authority allows cruise ship to embark at this port only after 6 AM.

IMG_0280

ព្រឹកមួយហ្នឹងក្រោកពីគេងបើកបង្អួចមកឃើញPeace Boat មានអារម្មណ៍ថាសប្បាយរីករាយហើយរំភើបខ្លាំង បានឃើញដូចចិត្តស្នាក់នៅទីនេះដើម្បីចង់ឃើញអញ្ចឹង! That morning, when I woke up and opened the window and I saw Peace Boat, I felt super happy and hyper excited. I stayed at this hotel and wished to see PB when I woke up and I got it.

peace boat

I was so excited to see Cambodia flag on Peace Boat. I hope next time I see Japan flag on her which means I would be in Japan and start my trip of a lifetime with Peace Boat.

pb

ក្នុងរូបនេះចេញដំណើរពីJapanពីស្តាំដៃចូលJapanវិញខាងឆ្វេងដៃបានន័យថាធ្វើដំណើរមួួយជុំវិញផែនដី

waiting for pb 2020​

I am waiting in excitement for the trip of a lifetime. I need to take a good care of my life for this journey.

peace boatThis photo makes me want to save the money for an around-the-world trip.

Ocean Dream The Ocean Dream (formerly TropicaleCosta Tropicale and Pacific Star) is a cruise ship, built in 1981. 2012-present: Peace Boat General characteristics (as built) Type: Cruise ship Tonnage: 36,674 GT 6,654 DWT Length: 204.76 m (671 ft 9 in) Beam: 26.45 m (86 ft 9 in) Draught: 7.00 m (23 ft 0 in) Installed power: 2 × Sulzer 7RND68M 19,570 kW (combined) Propulsion: Two propellers Speed: 21 knots (39 km/h; 24 mph) Capacity: 1,422 passengers General characteristics (as Pacific Star) Type: Cruise ship Tonnage: 35,190 GT[6] Decks: 10 (passenger accessible) Capacity: 1,412 passengers (maximum) Crew: 550

My Philosophical Way Of Life

 pb-count div

Not a day goes by I don’t think about her!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

“Dy Dara, the first man from Cambodia, to sail around the world” How cool is that? In 2020, I will sell one piece of my lands to join PB. Those who risk nothing, do nothing; have nothing & become nothing. It’s the magic of risking everything for a dream that nobody sees but me.

cry with overjoyed

Nothing quite excites the emotions when it comes to sailing around the globe.

“Fighting for your dreams isn’t always easy but it’s so worth it.” ~Unknown~

Today, 14th March 2011, is the 1th anniversary of my blog.

Happy 1th Birthday to this!😀

This is year #2! It’s been 1 year since I once sat down and thought “sharing interesting and useful topics and my life story.”🙂 Blog Stats = 9,686 hits For the first year!😀 I am so happy with this number. Super Excited!😀 With my blog originally intended for me to just share my thoughts of what I’ve recently read, A place where I talk about my life and share interesting and useful topics, it’s grown into something much more. Because of my blog I’ve learned a lot things about human behavior and things happen for a reason. Because of my writing and sharing, I get many compliments. To some people, it’s just words on a piece of screen. But it’s more than just words. To me it means a lot. It’s awesome to feel appreciated!:) Have You Ever Wondered Why people act the way they do or you behave as you behave? Everyone behaves the way that they do because they are acting through a filter of the rocks (values, assumptions, beliefs, and expectations) that they carry around. Click here to see this interesting topic @ https://dydara.wordpress.com/2010/11/26/self-awareness-is-the-key-to-change-and-lasting-happiness/

Travelling is the only time I feel alive! :DI have a great passion for life! :)

There are a lot of problems with living a life designed to fit everyone else’s expectations of you, though. The top three, as I see it, are: .You can’t please everyone .Their expectations may be based on a narrow, inaccurate view of you .Your values could be wildly different from theirs. This is the first topic for the writing part of my second year of blogging as a hobby. Would love to hear your thoughts about it in the comments. :) Thanks! Not a day goes by I don’t think about you, Peace boat.

I wonder about how many Cambodian people have sailed around the world. If I can’t be the first person from Cambodia. At least I could be in that club one day. That’s my life ambition. It’s the magic of risking everything for a dream nobody sees but you. Sometimes hope is all you have got. I say this to myself “In 10 years, I’ll have enough money to take the trip of a lifetime.” 09.10.2011

This is a unique opportunity to fulfill my sense of adventure and at the same time make a meaningful contribution to the world.🙂

I heard about Peace boat on 30.01.2011, I want to join this awesome program. This is just a dream. Maybe the dream is what it’s all about, one of the important words for me. I was a little boy with a little dream that came true, not so little, by the way. The desire to pursue my interests and dreams. I wish one day my dream will come true!😀 What I am about to say sounds so crazy. I would choose Peace boat over my marriage life. Peace boat, sail around the world for 3 months! I am sick all the time and I thought if I had cancer or any diseases which need a lot of money to cure it I don’t need that I would use that money to achieve my dying wish “Peace Boat” I would not die with eyes open. My Dream: I would like to live in as many as different countries as possible. I should be practical, find a girl and be nice to her, take over my Parents’ business, get married and have lots of kids. heeheeh😀

(Just undated) I have this crazy idea “When I get married my parents will give me something, if I could trade that something for participating in Peace boat, I would and I would not regret about it. I choose Peace boat over marriage. Peace boat, sail around the world for 3 months!🙂 02.05.2011

I really want to promise myself this “I have to to join Peace boat before I tie the knot.” But naz I can’t promise that, what if this program is no longer available or I met the girl who can change my mind.

“He’d trained his entire life for one purpose, to be the greatest swordsman in the history of mankind. He’d just achieved his life ambition.” From The Warrior’s Way movie,  the words is so impressive. I can relate these words to this topic “I want to spend 10 years for saving money for this trip and to join it is my life ambition.” 

Charles Spezzano speaks to the value of time. He says that people don’t pay for things with money; they pay for them with time. If you say to yourself, “In five years, I’ll have enough money to take the trip of a lifetime, then what you are really saying is that the trip will cost you five years — one-twelfth of your adult life. “The phrase spending your time is not a metaphor, “said Spezzano. “It’s how life works.”

I would say this when I start the trip “It’s like I’ve been living my whole life for this moment.” I would take a video and say “This is where I start my trip! :)” and when I get back here I would make another video and say “This is where my journey end.”

For some travel’s a dream that comes true once a year for the annual vacation. Often people yearn of a greater travel adventure like a year in dream places or selling everything and bumming off to that places. Maybe I am one of those people. I am packing for the trip of my lifetime. I hope one day I can write this for real. I say to myself: “In 9 years (2020), if I cannot save enough money to take the trip of a lifetime I would sell one of my homes or lands to make it happen (On one condition of I am still single). It’s the magic of risking everything for a dream nobody sees but me. I think I’d rather have the amazing life with a tragic end. Because what’s life without risks? I wouldn’t want to hold back or not do amazing things just because of what might happen. 04.11.2011  Don’t be a person who wants so much without making any sacrifices! 

No matter what happenslife still goes on. You must take life as it comes. Sometimes hope is all you have got.

Not a day goes by I don’t think about two people and two journeys! The two people are my ex-lover and the girl of my dreams. And the journeys are SSEAYP and peace boat, the journey in my dreams. The ex-lover and SSEAYP are the past which can not come back, but you know, in life, the first act, always exciting. The girl of my dreams and the journey in my dreams are just the dreams. But these dreams give me smile and hope!🙂 03.05.2011

See the world with your own eyes!😀

I used to participate in Ship for Southeast Asian Youth Program. Things happen that lead to other things. And I hope this is one of them.😀

Peace Boat is a Japan-based international non-governmental and non-profit organization that works to promote peace, human rights, equal and sustainable development and respect for the environment. Peace Boat seeks to create awareness and action based on effecting positive social and political change in the world. We pursue this through the organization of global educational programmes, responsible travel, cooperative projects and advocacy activities. These activities are carried out on a partnership basis with other civil society organizations and communities in Japan, Northeast Asia, and around the world. Peace Boat carries out its main activities through a chartered passenger ship that travels the world on peace voyages. The ship creates a neutral, mobile space and enables people to engage across borders in dialogue and mutual cooperation at sea, and in the ports that we visit. Activities based in Japan and Northeast Asia are carried out from our seven Peace Centers in Japan.

Peace Boat carries out its main activities through a chartered passenger ship that travels the world on peace voyages Peace Boat carries out its main activities through a chartered passenger ship that travels the world on peace voyages. Three Global Voyages and one short Asian regional voyage are usually organized each year. The three-month Global Voyages are each joined by around 800 participants and visit between 15-20 countries. Peace Boat’s 72nd Global Peace Voyage departed from Yokohama on January 23 , 2011 and will visit 19 ports in 17 countries around the world, through the Pacific, Latin America, Europe, Africa, the Middle East and Asia. The voyage will return to Japan 86 days after its departure, on April 18, 2011.

Tsunami hits Japan (11 March 2011) made me want to know where Peace boat was, according to voyage itenerary, she was at Casablanca, Morocco.

Look at the map, it shows the Earth is round, travelling eastward around the globe. Start from Japan travel eastward to Peru and continue the trip until it will return to Japan. !😀

  • It is best to sail from east to west to have the wind at your back.

Long A trip from one Pole to the other, and back again on the other side, would technically be a circumnavigation. Circumnavigation to be a passage of at least 21,600 nautical miles (40,000 km) in length which crosses the equator, crosses every meridian and finishes in the same port as it starts. A meridian (or line of longitude) is the half of an imaginary great circle on the Earth’s surface, terminated by the North Pole and the South Pole, connecting points of equal longitude. The position of a point along the meridian is given by its latitude. Each meridian is perpendicular to all circles of latitude. Each is also the same size, being half of a great circle on the Earth’s surface and therefore measuring 20,003.93 km (12,429.9 miles). I just realized about this 1 Nautical mile = 1.852 kilometer 1 Mile = 1.60934 kilometer

hose

From this scene I can understand about “high-pressure water hoses”

This news does not make me give up my biggest dream. Sometime during the week between 3 and 9 May 2010, Peace Boat came under attack by Somali pirates while off the coast of Yemen. The ship was attacked by grenades, but managed to avoid being boarded by adopting zig-zag manoeuvres and blasting the pirates with high-pressure water hoses. Reportedly the pirates were subsequently apprehended by NATO forces. Can you believe that in the past 4 years, the Peace Boat has been attacked twice by pirates in this area near Somalia. Apparently once the PB was fired at by the pirates, but the captain veered at full speed in the other direction and got away. Another time the PB was surrounded by about 20 small pirate boats, and they had to get a warship from another country to rescue the boat!! horn of Africa PB must pass horn of Africa (Somali pirates are always here) in order to complete a trip of sailing around the world. This is the most dangerous part of the trip.

budget for pb

other costs

theseI need these for this trip!  DSLR camera GoPro tripod remote shutter release

cambodia

With this I would get Visa Waiver for some countries.

i may not be there     I must bear this in my mind because I need to remind myself keep going for this journey.

I need to do lot preparations for this.

Nippon Maru cabin A participating fee is depending on the cabin types. The cheapest one is 1,290,000 Japanese Yen equals 12,629 US Dollar (as of exchange rate today 06.12.2013) The cabin looks like this and it is for 4 people. exchangeIn 2011, ¥1,290,000 equals 17,000 USD, as of exchange rate today it is about 12,629 USD, I hope in 2020, it stays like this. ¥1,290,000 for paying participation fee. save up for pb cannoot give up

good-things-come-to-those-who-wait    Keep on waiting and believing – and never give up – and the best things will come to you!

In two years (2012 and 2013), I saw two opportunities that allowed me to join PB but I did not take it. I want to spend 9 years for waiting for this journey. I’ve known PB since 2011 so in 2020 I will join this trip. If you get something easily, you would not know its value.

a small victory

tumblr_mbal95kFLm1rf45lpo1_500

“If you have a dream, don’t wait. Act. One of life’s little rules. Got it memorized?” – Axel (Kingdom Hearts II)

most antic

Top 3 Most Anticipated Events of 2014 for me! :D I mark these dates on my calendar. Cannot Wait! :D

single

មូលហេតុខ្ញុំប្រហែលជាខុសគេបើមិនបានជិះនាវាមួយជុំវិញផែនដីគឺមិនយកប្រពន្ធ The more I say this in public, the more I have to do it.

catch the dream

want most

best day

When I meet people, they always ask me this question “You don’t care about anything at all?” I always reply with this answer “I do care about one thing and one thing only that is Peace Boat journey.”

never

pb

ខ្ញុំរង់ចាំអស់ពេលជិត៤ឆ្នាំហើយខ្ញុំអាចរង់ចាំ៦ឆ្នាំទៀតក៏បានដែរអោយគ្រប់១០ឆ្នាំអោយតែបានជិះកប៉ាលជុំវិញពិភពលោក។ I have been waiting almost 4 years and I can wait another 6 years to sail around the world. Not a day goes by I don’t think about you, PB! If one day in my life I will cry with overjoyed it will be the day I start this trip​​ 16.10.2014

IMG_0401

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Dydara,

    I’m Chau, from Vietnam. It’s very nice to know your blog.

    I have heard a lot about Peace Boat and my dream is that one day I can join Peace Boat as an Jap- Eng interpreter like you. And when I searched about Peace Boat on google it led me to your nice blog. I truly love your words and it helped me a lot to get more inspiration to apply for PB program and also the SSEAYP too. I found that you and me have a great enthusiasm of youth in common. That’s why I want to leave my message to you.

    You are really a happy man because you have your own dreams and you know how to achieve them . I learn a lot from your writing. Thank you so much and hope to see many interesting posts about your life and thoughts.

    Nice to meet you.:)

    “When you are happy you live a day.
    When you are not happy, you still live one day.
    Why don’t we make that day a happy day?” -> I love this!!! ^^

    Comment by Chau Tran — August 24, 2011 @ 10:52 pm | Reply

    • Hi, I am glad you like my blog!🙂 You can subscribe to this blog! Thank you for your support. What a coincident a few days ago I just came up with this sentence which I wanted to write for my facebook photo caption “Dare to dream – A man who knows what he wants and knows how to get them.” It’s very nice to hear from you!🙂 Take Care!🙂

      Comment by dydara — August 26, 2011 @ 10:22 am | Reply

  2. You misunderstand me, I am not Jap- Eng interpreter!🙂

    Comment by dydara — December 22, 2011 @ 7:37 am | Reply

  3. Great Blog! I also wish to join Peace Boat!

    Comment by voluntourcambodia — December 10, 2013 @ 12:05 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

